A Valley

I wrote this during my recovery. A month after the surgery, I began passing kidney stones. During January, I had two trips to the Emergency Room and two procedures to remove stones. I felt that satan was trying to hinder the work God wanted me to do with this poetry. I hope you can relate to this poem and realize how much God wants to help us!

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Psalm 23:4
Father I'm in a valley
I can't find my way
I've tried everything
And I keep going astray

I'm out of hope 
And out of energy
I need some direction
To help uplift me

I've tried it on my own
Without much success
And all I have now 
Is self-induced stress

Help me my Father
To get through this place 
That has me confused
And losing this race

By dianeparkhurst

Hello! My name is Diane Parkhurst. I am a fifty four year wife and mother. My husband, David, and I have been married thirty years. We have two sons and a daughter-in-law, David, Daniel and Kayla. I have recently been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. My poetry is a gift from God to help me process my emotions during this time. This is the first time I have shared publicly my poetry with anyone other than friends and family. I do not profess to be an expert on cancer or poetry. My hope is that this blog would help others going through trials in their life.

Leave a comment